The 29th Annual Tournament of Winners Event was held at the  Broken Arrow Golf Club in Lockport, IL on August 26 & 27th.  NIMAGA’s Tournament of Winners event is a qualification tournament where only players who have placed well in both regular and special events during the past year are invited.  The event challenges second year and over golfers from all handicap divisions against each other based on handicaps.  The field is cut to the low 50% of golfers plus ties for day two.  55 players were entered and 31 made the cut for day two. Challenging conditions on Saturday resulted in the low gross scores of 72, 76, 78 and 79. A 63 lead the net side and the cut was made at 75 net.  Ideal conditions with a bit of wind on day two faced all the players. First round Low Gross leader Steve Mueller faced a great head to head match with last years champion Tom Niketopoulos.  Steve’s steady play prevailed with a one shot victory 146 to 147. George Zdarsky who won solo fourth place showed you can be sick as a dog and still play good golf. A double playoff was conducted to establish both the Low Net and fifth place winners. In the playoff for first place Low Net, Tom Niketopoulos contined his birdie streak and beat Shawn Pipes and Dan Dorr who fired a second round 76. A record six-way playoff was held for the only remaining fifth place trophy. John Griffin bested Wally Svihula, Larry Mayerhofer, Dick Strutz, Ken Larsen and last year’s winner Pete Vercillo All six trophy winners qualify for next year’s event.  The results are as follows: 

Low Gross Winner; Steve Mueller, West Chicago, 146

Low Net, Tom Niketopoulos, Wheaton, 137*

2nd place Low Net, Shawn Pipes, Woodridge , 137

3rd place Low Net, Dan Dorr, Glenview 137

4th place Low Net, George Zdarsky, Broadview , 140

5th place Low Net, John Griffin, River Grove, 141 *

*-Won playoff

Copyright © 1999 [NIMAGA]. All rights reserved.
Revised: September 10, 2006