JUNE 2001



 On Monday May 7th NIMAGA hosted the Member/Guest event at Eagle Brook Country club.  Despite some questionable weather 80 players teed off in a shotgun format on a well maintained but wet course.  The event is one of the many new ways the NIMAGA board is attempting to attract new players.  Because of this event, 40 golfers attended as guests and received a positive exposure to NIMAGA.  A small awards ceremony with refreshments capped off the event and sent many players home with a good impression of our organization.  If you missed this event please remember to watch for details next year!  A special thanks goes out to all members who participated! UPDATE: The event will be Monday May 6th, 2002 – so mark your calendar early!

 The winners were:

 Low Gross –

1st Craig Youngquist & John Tofano – 162 ($100 ea)

2nd Jim Murrow & Mike Burzcak – 167 ($50 ea)

Low Net Winners –

1st Bob Miller & Phil Prince – 175-26-149 ($100 ea)

2nd Jim Cuny & Rob Jordan – 172-22-150 ($50 ea)

3rd Ted Barkow & Tony Rapisaoda – 183-32-151 ($40 ea)

4th Carl Movrich & Lou Ornoff – 172-21-151 ($30 ea)

5th Bob White & Lyn Ray – 196-45-151 (Dz Balls ea) 


 We received word that George Vincent, a three time winner of the Tournament of Winners has passed away.  He was in his late 80’s.  George was a very successful competitor.  Thruout his NIMAGA career he was a man ahead of his time with his 50” driver.   

Word also came about Elmore Just, the noted author of the book “The History of Persimmon” died at 53 years.


Forty eight of NIMAGA’s finest players assembled at the Tamarack Golf Club in Naperville on Sunday May 20th.  The defending team champion is the Championship Division.  The match play event was founded by former board member Bob Beebe in 1990.  The Championship Division had 3 prior wins, A Division 4 wins, B Division 2 wins and C Division

2 wins.  The Championship division won a substantial victory with 14-1/2 points vs “A” 7 points vs “B”

7 points and “C” 7-1/2 points.  Teams which won their matches with 2 or more points were:  Championship Tim Jordan/Bob Lynch, Mike Sutton/Steve Buerk, Diego Rendon/Perry Variano, John Pichla/Ken Miller.  A Division Roger Scott/Val Russell, B Division Robert Jenkins/Robert White, Carl Janas/John Brdeka

C Division Alan Johnson/Don Clement and Jim Arden/ Nick Dicosola.  Last year’s team captain Ken Miller presented the cup to himself as the captain of the victorious team.  Congratulations to all who participated. 


 The event will be held at the Highland Park Golf Course on Monday, June 25th.  The handicap revision card of May 17 had an incorrect date.  The event is June 25th with a deadline of June 9th.  There will be a high and low division, so get your entry in early.  It’s a 8:00 am shotgun start so there won’t be a long wait to see who won.  The event is being run by Don Clement our former president.  If there are any questions he can be reached at 847-966-5397. 


There are approximately 160 players in the June event, About 40 per division.  We stated last year that we need more NIMAGA members because we are not meeting the guarantee at our golf courses.  It’s not too late to join NIMAGA this year!  Please let your friends know about our organization!


Copyright © 1999 [NIMAGA]. All rights reserved.
Revised: August 21, 2008 .